Frequently asked questions

What can the patient expect?


  • A thorough assessment - Patient Hx

  • Identification of the problem

  • Biomechanical assessment

    • weight-bearing exam for lower extremity cases

    • non weight-bearing exam

  • Observational gait assessment for lower extremity cases

  • Skin condition, circulation, tone, etc

  • Treatment objectives

  • Recommendation

  • Follow-up to verify the outcome


A complete assessment is the foundation of proper orthotic intervention. In cases where the patient has issues such as insufficient ROM, excessive oedema, etc which would limit an optimal result then the patient is referred to the appropriate health professional to address these issues in order to obtain proper orthotic therapy.


In cases where an orthosis would not be appropriate, then no orthosis will be provided and the patient will be referred to the appropriate health care provider. Some cases may be resolved by appropriate orthopedic footwear or modifications to footwear, etc.


Are assessments required for all cases?

No. Certain problems such as Carpal tunnel syndrome or epicondylitis simply require a fitting although under the supervision of the orthotist where we will also verify the person’s occupation and the way it will be used to dispense the appropriate type. Other problems such as an ankle sprain, or patella problem may require a brief assessment.


Does the patient require a prescription for a consultation?

No. Anyone can set an appointment with the orthotist however in order to receive an orthosis, then a recommendation will be written to the Doctor or N.P.


Insurance companies and third party payers require prescriptions to obtain funding.


How do we know if an orthosis will be beneficial?

By performing a complete assessment, basing the orthosis on sound biomechanical design principles in accordance with the patient’s objectives and the treatment objectives, it is very rare to obtain less than satisfactory results.


As in all health care, we cannot guarantee the outcome, there are always uncontrollable variables. Patient compliance, other healthcare issues or undiagnosed conditions or compromises in orthotic design to satisfy patient preferences, can all contribute to less than stellar results. But in the vast majority of cases, if all elements of the assessment correlate with the objectives, then a satisfactory result will be achieved. In foot orthosis cases, we have been recording follow-up results and only 10-20% require an adjustment. Of those that require an initial adjustment, only 10% need a second adjustment. Those who require a third adjustment will typically get re-assessed and get their orthosis redone free of charge. In the last ten years, less than five cases have had to have their orthoses re-done. In most of these cases, there typically was an undiagnosed condition that prevented an optimal result.


What is the difference between an orthotist, Certified Orthotist, Pedorthotists, podiatrist etc?

There is no legislation governing the dispensing of orthoses in New Brunswick so anyone can call themselves an orthotist however a Certified Orthotist is a registered title that is reserved for those who have graduated from a recognized, accredited orthotic-prosthetic program, done their residency under a Certified Orthotist and passed the three day board exams consisting of 1 day written exams, 1 day oral exams and one day practical exams.


Many others provide orthoses but only the title of C.O.(c) guarantees that the person has formal training in this field. However, there is a tremendous shortage of C.O.’s so other providers have a role to play. The important thing is that the patient receives an orthosis that fits and functions well no matter who provides it.


Podiatrists typically deal with foot care such as treating callouses, trimming nails and other foot conditions. In the course of their treatment, they will also dispense foot orthoses.


Pedorthotists are foot-ankle specialists dealing with orthoses and orthopedic footwear. Some have kinesiology degrees, some have taken correspondence courses in foot orthoses, there are varied levels of education among different pedorthotists.


It is important that the patient be assured of receiving a thorough assessment, only receive an orthosis if it will help their condition and appropriate follow-up to verify the results obtained. If the patient assessment-casting is over in 5 minutes, there may have been some elements missed in the process.

Copyright OrthoSolutions 2019 - Legal
Created by

Legal notice

Foire aux questions

À quoi le patient peut-il s'attendre?


  • Une évaluation complète - Antécédents médicaux du patient

  • Identification du problème

  • Évaluation biomécanique

    • Tests avec poids pour les cas impliquant les membres inférieurs

    • Tests sans poids

  • Observation de la démarche pour les cas impliquant les membres inférieurs

  • État de la peau, de la circulation, du tonus, etc.

  • Objectifs de traitement

  • Recommendation

  • Suivi des résultats


Une évaluation complète est le fondement-même de l'intervention orthétique. Dans les cas d'ADM insuffisante ou d'œdème excessif qui limiteraient un résultat optimal, le patient sera référé au professionnel de la santé capable de traiter ces problèmes et de prodiguer les soins orthétiques appropriés.


Dans les cas où le recours à une orthèse ne serait pas nécessaire, aucune orthèse ne sera fournie et le patient sera dirigé vers le professionnel de santé approprié. Certains cas peuvent être résolus par le moyen de chaussures orthopédiques, par certaines modifications apportées aux chaussures, etc.


Est-ce qu'une évaluation est nécessaire dans tous les cas?

Non. Certains problèmes tels que le syndrome du canal carpien ou l'épicondylite ne requièrent qu'un simple ajustement, sous la supervision de l'orthésiste qui vérifiera également l'occupation de la personne afin de déterminer le bon type d'orthèse à utiliser. D'autres problèmes tels que l'entorse de la cheville, ou un problème de la rotule pourront nécessiter une brève évaluation.


Est-ce que le patient doit avoir une ordonnance pour obtenir une consultation?

Non. Toute personne peut prendre rendez-vous avec l'orthésiste. Cependant, une recommandation devra être préalablement écrite au docteur ou à l'infirmière praticienne avant la prescription d'une orthèse.


Les compagnies d'assurance et les tiers payeurs exigent des ordonnances afin d'obtenir un financement.


Comment sait-on si l'orthèse améliorera l'état du patient?

Une évaluation complète et une orthèse façonnée selon les principes de conception biomécanique éprouvés et conformes aux objectifs de traitement du patient assureront des résultats généralement satisfaisants.


Comme pour tous les soins de santé, le résultat ne peut être garanti. La volonté du patient, les problèmes de santé non diagnostiqués ou les modifications d'orthèse demandées par le client lors de la conception sont tous des facteurs qui peuvent affecter les résultats. Dans la grande majorité des cas cependant, si tous les éléments de l'évaluation sont alignés aux objectifs de traitement, des résultats satisfaisants seront atteints. Pour ce qui est des orthèses plantaires, les résultats de suivis indiquent qu'un ajustement n'est nécessaire que dans 10 à 20 % des cas. 10 % des cas qui nécessitent un ajustement initial en nécessiteront un deuxième. Les cas nécessitant un troisième ajustement seront complètement réévalués et une nouvelle orthèse sera conçue pour le patient gratuitement. Au cours des dix dernières années, moins de cinq cas de reprise complète d'orthèses ont été enregistrés. Dans la plupart de ces cas, il y avait généralement une maladie non diagnostiquée qui a empêché un résultat optimal.


Quelle est la difference entre un orthétiste, un orthétiste certifié, un podo-orthétiste, un podiatre, etc?

Il n'existe aucune loi qui régit l'émission d'orthèses au Nouveau-Brunswick, ce qui implique que n'importe qui peut se donner le titre d'orthésiste. Cependant, un orthésiste certifié est un titre qui est réservé aux diplômés d'un programme spécialisé en orthèse-prothèse reconnu, qui ont fait leur résidence sous un orthésiste certifié et qui ont réussi avec succès les trois examens du conseil, soit l'examen écrit d'un jour, l'examen oral d'un jour et l'examen pratique d'un jour.


Plusieurs professionnels font la distribution d'orthèses, mais seul le titre d'orthésiste certifié garantit que la personne possède une formation reconnue dans ce domaine. Cependant, puisqu'il y a pénurie d'orthétistes certifiés, ceux-ci ont leur rôle à jouer. Ce qui importe est que le patient reçoive une orthèse adaptée à ses besoins et qui fonctionne bien, peu importe qui le lui a prescrite.


Les podiatres s'occupent des traitements des pieds, que ce soit pour le soin des callosités, la coupe d'ongles ou autres problèmes de pied. Ils peuvent également émettre des orthèses au cours de leur traitement.


Les podo-orthétistes sont des spécialistes des pieds et des chevilles qui travaillent avec des orthèses et des chaussures orthopédiques. Certains sont certifiés en kinésiologie, d'autres ont suivi des cours sur les orthèses plantaires par correspondance : il existe différents niveaux d'éducation chez les podo-orthétistes.


Il est important que le patient s'assure de recevoir une évaluation complète, et qu'il se voit prescrire une orthèse seulement si celle-ci peut améliorer son état et qu'un suivi approprié peut en vérifier le résultat. Si l'évaluation du patient se fait en moins de 5 minutes, c'est un bon indicateur que certains éléments ont peut-être été négligés.

Tous droits réservés OrthoSolutions 2019 - Mention légale
Création de

Mention legale